• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Laid Off

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joggie69

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida.

I worked as a project manager for a construction company for more than 7 years. The company was bought out about two years ago. Major changes in upper management followed. I was recently laid off from my position because of a "lack of work" due the slow economy and a rapid decline in new construction. I spoke to senior management and I was told that they did not want to do this, but that there was just no place where they can use me because they do not have any new projects coming up. However, the project that I was working on is only scheduled to finish early 2011. A few months before I was laid off, the new upper management hired a new project manager for the project I was working on. They knew each other from a previous company both used to work for. During my time of employment, there was not a single incident where my job performance, loyalty to the company or commitment to the project was ever in question. I am convinced that I was laid off in order for upper management to be able to hire an old acquaintance.

Isn't this illegal? Can an employer lay somebody off due to "lack of work", but then hire someone else to replace the laid off employee?

justalayman

joggie69;2389097]
Isn't this illegal?
no

Can an employer lay somebody off due to "lack of work", but then hire someone else to replace the laid off employee?
Yes, barring some contractual or collective bargaining agreement (cba; union contract), it is perfectly legal.