• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Laid Off Tuition Reimbursement question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mathman34

Hello, I am a New Hampshire resident recently laid off from a small engineering company. During my time there I was given tuition reimbursement for graduate school. The company would pay half up front and then half at the end of the semester. Since they were paying for a portion of my classes they wanted me to do my thesis/capstone project for them. The university I attend explained to them it would be about 10k for me to do my thesis for a private company (rights to the work, tech supplies, etc). The president of the company, my supervisor, my thesis advisor and I all met to discuss the scope of the work. I started the thesis work this past semester and it was going to be a two semester project. The funds were to be paid half up front and half at the end beginning this summer. Everything was going fine and on May 3rd I submitted my grades.