• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Lawyer already says have a case....

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MatthewGoode

What is the name of your state? Kentucky

I worked at job for 13 years, nothing but great reviews. I worked as a collector for a large credit card company. Out of the blue on December 29th, two managers who were not mine, pulled me into a room and gave me the speech that I had two days with to much "gap" time. Gap time is time in between calls. Keep in mind, that I am not on a dialer system, it's manual, meaning I make the calls on my own time. No difference, I may have had more time that day because I am diabetic and my blood sugar was going up and down those two days. I've been there 13 years, had just had my last one-on-one two weeks prior and was told I was doing a great job. I made a lot of money for the company. Then, I was told I had to much gap time for two days and I was walked out. I had e-mails from co works that night telling me how it was "bs" and what not. I even had a manager that works there call me telling me how upset they were with the firing. It came out of no where. I contacted a lawyer who tells me I have a case, because it seems I made to much money alone as far as my salary was and I made incentive on top of that. The lawyer did not say that, but this is mine, and many other suspicious because this company has a reputation for letting you go once you reach to high of a point. Well, the lawyer says it may consist of discrimination as well because of my blood sugar playing tricks on me those days and them not taking this into consideration. The only thing is, she wanted a $2000 retainer fee and $180 an hour. I just was put out of