• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Layed off "budget cuts"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sailorgirl888

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Connecticut
I was recently layed off from a university where I work as a manager. They claim it's budget cuts. I was the only one layed off, I am one of the lowest paid and was not the last one hired. I always had issues with my supervisor. She expected perfection from me and I mean perfection. I was extremely nervous if I ever made a mistake. She had told me it might cost me my job if I couldn't do my job. I worked under extreme pressure. An example of a mistake was not correctly inputting a number on a grid. They were minor mistakes. I went to HR when I felt she was trying to terminate me. They felt she needed training on managing people and suggested this to her.
When I was hired my job description was a coordinating piece...a big part of my job. I was not given this piece as at the time her girlfriend was doing it (she is a casual employee). When my supervisor tried to give her girlfriend a part time position with benefits to do this coordinating piece that was supposed to be my job, the union people in our office objected and HR told her she couldn't give her friend this part time with benefits job. It was then that I got this piece back in my job description. My boss continued to change my job numerous times throughout my 3.5 years there. She was constantly switching my job duties...which I have documentation.