• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Layoff or not a layoff?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

junsinco1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello, I was wondering if anyone was or has been in a predicament such as mine.

The story: I'm an LVN and an EMT at a local hospital that's going bankrupt. I used to work in the nursing dept but moved over to ambulance department. Well, it seems that my current department is being dissolved and i'm going to be out of my current job with the hospital. Here's the catch, my current boss states that he moved to another company and is taking us in. We would have jobs but still have to do an application etc. Some of our guys actually was fired from that said company. I am reluctant because I would get a substantial pay cut. My current employers human resources dept says we won't be getting our layoff papers because we are being "offered" jobs.

How is this possible(if even possible)? Is there anyone that can point us to the right direction? Thanks.

swalsh411

What are these "layoff papers" you are referring to and why are you concerned that you might not be getting them? You apparently are being (or will be) offered another job at a lower pay rate. You are free to accept this employment or look elsewhere.

If you file for unemployment, you may (probably will) run into an issue as to whether or not you turned down suitable work.

eerelations

Your employer isn't required to give you any "papers" when laying you off, all it has to do is say "you're laid off" and that's it, hey presto, you're laid off!

junsinco1