• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Layoff and Rehiring/Layoff again

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

c2003

I am a usability engineer. I help make company's products consistent and usable. I got layoff and my last day was Feb. 14. Today, the HR person called me and ask me to go back to work on a project. The team cannot deliver the product without me. I was told that I would be paid the same salary as before and same benefits. I was also told that I would be laid off again when the project was finsished (sometimes in March). I said OK without thinking further. I will start on Monday. Now, I regret that I did not negotiate with them for any more compensation. I need some advice what I need to do when I go to the office. I will first meet with the HR person first. I think I still have some room for negotiation. I appreciate your help.

Beth3

You are free to ask, they are free to say no.

What I can tell you (speaking as a senior HR person) is that if you try to hold the project hostage by making unreasonable salary or other demands, they *may* have to give you what you want but it will leave a VERY bad taste in this employer's mouth and that will not serve you well in the long run. It will be reflected in any references they provide and they certainly will not re-employ you if a position opens up that they might otherwise have offered to you.

Think hard about whether you should ask for more than what you had when you left and if you feel you have to, then make certain your request is reasonable.

C

c2003