• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Leave of absence request denied

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

santinosmom333

What is the name of your state? California

I have been a supervisor for about 2 yrs (1st time) and problems arose w/ subordinate where we both had written warnings, I then I realized I am not good at the position I have and requested to step down w/ less hours. It was told to me that option was not available at our branch (we are over staffed, according to an internal report) and I must continue in this position, after a month or so of stressful days & walking on eggshells, FOR ME, i decided to request a leave of absence, which was denied due to "staffing issues". On the assumption that the reason was to help my grade-failing son at school, br. mnger offered me less hrs to help out my son, one day and changed the terms the next day, which was after I agreed. The Br Manager never directly asked me the reason, in fact, she said I didn't have to tell her, she did however assume the reason.
I was given 3 options- 1. accept less hours and leave when coverage is complete for the day , 2. stay @ 40 hrs or 3. give resignation. I am about to resign tomorrow 3/27/08 If i am wrong in thinking i have something, please let me know.

Current Occupation: Operations Utility
Which Employer: Current Employer
Length of Employment: 3.5 years

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I don't understand your question. But, the employer hasn't done anything wrong (at this point). You are resigning. You will likely NOT be eligible for unemployment too.

santinosmom333