• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legal obligation for position description

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gno

I work in New Jersey as an at will employee. Does my employer have any legal obligation to adhere to the position descriptions published in their human resources literature? I am designated as a position "A" but can clearly document that I have been performing position "B" for at least two years. Position "B" is one level above position "A".

gno

Yes; there has been a lot of management transition; I have had 3 managers in 2 years. The most recent manager says the position descriptions are only a "starting point" of job expectations; additionally he said that my performance record does not show that I should be promoted. However, I have not been reviewed in the last four years so I am wondering if I have any legal recourse. I also believe the fact that I have not been promoted has resulted in pay inequity between myself and other staff members.

BelizeBreeze

gno said:
Yes; there has been a lot of management transition; I have had 3 managers in 2 years. The most recent manager says the position descriptions are only a "starting point" of job expectations; additionally he said that my performance record does not show that I should be promoted. However, I have not been reviewed in the last four years so I am wondering if I have any legal recourse. I also believe the fact that I have not been promoted has resulted in pay inequity between myself and other staff members.
You have two legal remedies:

1. put up with it or,
2. quit.

mlane58