• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legal threats after resignation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jey5

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

I worked as a webmaster voluntarily for a non-profit corporation. I did not sign any contract with my former employer (when I joined the job), except an email communication from my former employer confirming me as the webmaster. I did all the work from my home. I left that voluntary job 2 months back and informed my employer at that time about by intention to leave the job and they agreed. Now the former employer is asking me to provide them the login and password information for the website account (of their website) that I have worked for. I already gave them that information when I was working (I gave them that information by telephone when I was employed). I no longer have a copy of those login and password details with me. Also I never used those login and passwords to access the website since I left the voluntary job. Now my former employer is threatening me of suing me unless I provide those login and password details and I have no way of producing the details which I do not have anymore. What legal options I have?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL