• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Let go in Florida

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Douglasd

I was employed in a prominent physician's office with my duties primarily to develop and operate an in-house pharmacy. I have many years experience in this field and am 53 years old. Under my direction, the pharmacy went from nothing to $200,000 net profit while I was employed there for a year and two weeks.

I was called into the acting admin office and was told to go home and not come back. I was given a lame excuse as "the pharmacy is not making any money." I was rushed out and could not even collect my personal things. That was on a Friday. On Monday, they had a 19 year old girl with no experience working in the pharmacy. Do I have a civil case against them or am I out in left field?

ecmst12

They obviously thought they were spending too much on your salary and thought someone less experienced could do your job for less money. Nothing illegal about that. You can apply for unemployment - you'll probably get it.

Beth3

On Monday, they had a 19 year old girl with no experience working in the pharmacy. Do I have a civil case against them or am I out in left field? So they now have an inexperienced 19 year old filling and dispensing prescriptions? :eek: Is that even legal???

I don't know if you have an age discrimination claim or not but I think it's worthwhile for you to speak to an employment law attorney and get an expert opinion.

ecmst12

OP is not a pharmacist either; sounds like she was basically an office manager for the pharmacy. Didn't say anything about filling the prescriptions.

mitousmom

How many employees did the doctor's office have?