• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Life after Felony - adjudication withheld???

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

janah

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?FL

I am a teacher at an adult school. I have a student that had a felony charge of grand theft and fordging a false instrument(?). She has a two year probation, but states that adjudication is withheld. She has one year left on probation. Seven years ago she cashed a stolen money order for a friend - she was 17 at the time, she was unaware of the warrant.

She is taking the GED and will most likely pass it today. She's academically pretty smart and could very well be a good college canditate. She took her CNA (Nurses aide) testing and passed it, but they won't complete the licensure process at present because she is on probation still. She's going through the appeal process.

I'm assisting her in thinking of career possibilities that she will be able to proceed with after her probation time is over. With the adjudication withheld sentence, does that mean that the sky is the limit with her career choices? How do I find out what she can and can't do as it relates to her career choices? We are in a rural area, and medical, corrections, and educational careers are the major money payers. There are next to no major businesses or factories to draw from. She has 3 little girls - from ages 7 to 3. She has great potential to overcome this, but is concerned about the possibilities she has. She doesn't want to spend time getting a degree she won't be able to use.

Help if you can!

Thanks

Beth3