• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

A little direction

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

yikesimfreaked

What is the name of your state? IN

hola.

I'm a student and would like to know if any attorneys or paralegals are able to help out. I'm doing a writing assignment for my legal research class and could use a little direction on this case study. I'm not looking for anyone to answer the situation, but to possibly point me in the direction. Here is the situation that I've been given:

Jonas Grumby, a sea captain by trade, enters your office for consultation.

Captain Grumby was hire by howell Industries to transport goods from its plant in Gary, Indiana to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, about a three hour trip. After loading the cargo ship with Howell Industries' product, along with other cargo, Grumby and his first mate, Gil Ligan, set out on the turn. The weather started getting rough and the tiny ship was tossed, if not for the courage of the mighty crew, the ship would have been lost. Grumby ordered cargo thrown overboard to save the ship. Howell is now suing for the lost cargo.

Please write a memo detailing Grumby's rights and responsibilities regarding the cargo. Include any authorities and an opinion of Grumby's liability.

mitousmom

Sometimes, I help with homework. But your situation is not in my area of expertise. This is an employment forum and the siutation you describe has nothing to do with employment. Try the business section.

yikesimfreaked

I can point you in the direction of your professer, your TA, and your law library.