• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Malicious Management

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JoblessStudent

What is the name of your state?
California

I used to be a city bus driver in Southern California area. I was a Teamster union member by default. Even though I didn't maintain an impeccable attendence record, the rest of my record outshined most other employees. In the beginning of contract negotiations, the company wanted to sign a new contract that meant a 5% loss in pay, reduced benefits and a two-tier pay scale that most employees and union reps didn't like at all. Negotiations took months. In the meantime, there were reports that the union forced the company to sign an extended contract until the new one was signed which was never confirmed. The company started firing people for mundane reasons. One guy was fired 3 months away from his 25 year retirement date.