• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Marital status termination - performance related termination form overseas. HELP!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

acidcrash

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I am currently located in Okinawa, Japan. My company is located in Virginia and I am a resident of Florida... Complicated enough?

First, I am having trouble finding legal representation. My termination date is May 1 and I have until March 1 to agree to the severance agreement.

Background:
I am a married father of 3 on a US contract located in Okinawa, Japan on a US mil base.

I have worked for a major aerospace company for 8 years and 7 of those years have been overseas. Last year my manager was fired and new manager was hired with no management education and no management experience.

6 months after he was hired, he began to be dissatisfied with my performance but extended my location contract without request. I came up with a plan to improve the discrepancies that he noted and hit all the gates. A month later he made comments at a conference that his employees should not be distracted by their family life ( specifically having to leave at end of shift to pick up kids instead of working late). I was out of work in October for sickleave and he made surprise trip to my field location in early November to fill in for me. While he was here he made comments to contractors that this was a job for a SINGLE MAN. He began throwing a tantrum and threw consumables around the office and slamming doors when I returned from sick leave. He expressed dissatisfaction with my performance and stated he would put me on a Personnel Improvement Plan.