• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is my career ruined?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Hawaii
I am a CDL driver who worked for a small shuttle co. This co. employs CDL and non-CDL drivers. This co. is supposed to conduct random drug tests for their CDL drivers, which they have not been doing. Another driver and I were sent for a random drug test, and she said that in the 5 yrs. she'd worked there, this was the first time a random had been pulled. After the test we were given our "receipts", mine said it was for reasonable suspicion, hers said random. According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulations, the co. can only send a driver for a reasonable suspicion drug test if a DER (designated employee representative) observes signs of drug abuse or withdrawl. The DER is mandated by the FMSCA to attend classes to recognize the signs of abuse etc. This co. does not have a DER and has never sent anyone to the required classes. I was told that one of my co-workers went to the boss and said I was using drugs because I use the bathroom frequently. It states in the FMSCA regs. that an employer cannot send a driver for a reasonable suspicion test on third parties say so.