• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

At My Job...Is this legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Tha-Realist

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? (Michigan)

I work as a telemarketer. We make a base pay that never changes (unless we get a raise, but other than that, it's a weekly check of the same amount) along with commission if we get a sale. Business is usually pretty good, but this month, it hasn't been. So earlier today, our boss gave us a sheet of paper to sign, stating that if we don't get a certain number of leads per week, they will deduct money from our base pay (not our commission, but our base/weekly pay). If we don't sign it, we will be fired. (In fact, a co-worker got fired for asking about it at the end of our shift.) Is this legal?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
That depends.

The law requires that you be paid no less than minimum wage (the higher of state or Federal, if different) times the number of hours worked, plus overtime if you work over 40 hours in a work week. If the deductions take you below that, it's illegal. If it does not, it's legal.

commentator

If you are fired, file for unemployment benefits. This sort of deal or operation is sometimes so shady they're not paying in their required taxes, but if they're not, you don't need the job anyhow.