• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

my unemployment hearing is next week

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

karlyle

What is the name of your state? NY

I was laid off from a position as a day care teacher in 9/05. Shortly after my lay off notice, I looked for another job. I found a temp job right away as a project coordinator. The job was supposed to last through November, though it was never said when in November and the end of the project was not in writing. At hiring, they presented me with a contract that was standard procedure. It said I was an independent contractor and that I was not entitled to unemployment.

In late October, I was told that my project was cancelled by the client. This was on a Friday and they told me I could finish up/clean up my work by Monday since they wouldn't need me anymore after that. After my last day, I called NYSDOL to see where I stood. Here I was laid off from 2 jobs and I wanted to know if I was entitled to anything.

I told them about the contract I signed, and DOL said regardless of that, I should file a claim and let them investigate it. They said besides that, the contract sounds illegal, that no one has the right to tell anyone what they are or are not entitled to. They sent me a questionnaire to find the nature of my employment and my checks started coming a couple of weeks later.