• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need help fast

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jesusluvsu2004

What is the name of your state? :Ohio
I am posting this for my husband so here it is.
I have been having problems at work for awhile now. I am an assistant manager with a company here in Ohio. But this company doesn't have permanent assistants. You are hired as an assistant and then promoted after a training period to a store manager as stores become available.

I was originally told I would be here for 6-12 months. May of 2004 is when I started work here. In late August/early sept. We found out we were having another baby and it would be due in May of 2005. So I asked if I could stay put until the baby was born. They said that would be fine.

I completed my training in March and went ahead and put my name in for some stores that came open that were close by. But didn't get anything. One store came open that was about 20-30 miles from where we are now and I put in for it. But they gave it to another Assistant who was female and had already been a store manager but was demoted back down to assistant to be retrained. This store was given to her (as said to me by my boss) because she said she wasn't getting a fair deal because she was a woman. The company gave her the store to protect themselves from a lawsuit. I was very angry because I had received an excellent review and they had been very happy with my job performance. Why is it fair for her to get the store just because she is a woman when she had already did a bad job once?