• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need help with an invasion of privacy issue

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rachel35

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? HI

I am a teacher, and a few months ago I posted a Facebook status update that joked about something inappropriate a child had said that day at school. I did not refer to the child directly and I did not spell out the bad word the child had used. However, I did say I wasn't sure how I was going to make it through the year with these little ****s.

My Facebook account is closed and people can only view it if they are my friends. Pictures, comments, updates, etc... can not be viewed unless someone is my friend. Yet somehow one of the students at my school was able to hack into my facebook page, copy my status update (which had been written 2 months ago) and paste it on other students pages.

I found out about it because one particular child had sent me a friend request and I went to his page to send him a message telling him I could not accept his friend request because it is inappropriate for teachers and students to be friends. It was then that I saw on his page what the original student had posted. I called my principal immediately when I found out what had happened. She said that I personally hadn't done anything wrong since my account is closed, and that the child hacking my account, copying and pasting my old status update was the one at fault. We contacted the child and his mom got involved. We made sure he went to other children's pages and delete everything he had posted.