• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nepotism and equal employment opportunity policy at workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

answerseeker09

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hi,
I recently got laid off from an institution that I have been working for 6 years. The reason that I was given for the layoff is because of the budget and restructure of the institution. There were 20+ employees got laid off at the same time, and many positions got eliminated. One person’s original position got eliminated; however, he was offered to another position in our department immediately. According to the school, part of his new responsibilities will be correlated to my position; however, such individual has absolutely no experience in this field. He used to work in ‘Facilities’ and I am in ‘Fundraising and Public Affairs’. Not to mention his lack of education (he only has a high school diploma but was offered a director’s position) The new title that was given to him is newly created, and it was never publicized or ‘open for application’ on our campus. In addition, this individual’s parent is on the budget committee, and most of the employees believe that the parent is sheltering the son by using her power on campus. My questions are the following:

1. Do I have a strong case in terms of ‘voiding the equal opportunity policy’? According to our employee handbook: ‘Equal employment opportunity will be extended to all persons in all aspects of the employer-employee relationship, including, but not limited to recruitment, hiring, compensation, benefits, evaluating, assignment, training, promotion, transfer, discipline, layoff and termination’.