• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non-Compete Contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

evagaba

What is the name of your state? OHIO

I am a computer programmer and I was recently offered another job about 2 miles from where I work for about 40% more than I make now. I cannot refuse the offer.

When I put in my resignation this morning, my boss threatened me with a non-compete that I signed almost 4 years ago. It states I cannot get another programming job within a 50 mile radius for a period of 2 years upon resignation.

I am unclear if they can hold me to this as it is, but there are 2 other major factors that bother me.

1) The company was a private company and recently (within the last 8 months) was purchased by a fortune 500 company. Our name has changed and the contract still states the old company name. Would it still be valid? It states in the contract if it is sold, the contract goes along with the company.

2) Several programmers have left for other area jobs in the past and they did not threaten them with the same non-compete even though they signed it as well. My boss told me it is because he did not care that they left so they did not pursue it. He said he does not want me to leave and would pursue legal action to stop me from going to another area company.

I am unsure what I stand and what I should do. Any advice for anyone would help.

Thanks.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
We cannot possibly interprete the enforceability of an agreement we have not read. You will need to show it to an attorney in your state to get an answer.

seniorjudge