• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non-compete questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kja1971

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arkansas

I have a litany of questions on this topic, but I'll just ask a couple. But first some quick background: I have worked for my employer for 23 years, and it's the place I've worked since I earned my bachelors. After moving around for several years to different positions (always a promotion), I have been in my current role for 12 years. I have received four promotions in that role, with my last one coming two months ago. I had expected to be promoted to vice-president mostly based on it was the usual next title for my position, and my senior vice-president had been telling me for two years he thought I deserved it. Unfortunately, the timing was bad and our president felt we had too many VP; therefore, to promote me, they created a new position by tacking on "senior" to my title. I received a decent raise and a generous amount of stock that came with a catch. I don't receive any of the stock for eight years. Needless to say, I was underwhelmed and a little disappointed with my "promotion."