• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Not allowed to work

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jscott388

Kentucky - I work as a door to door sales and we are required to have our on insurance and vehicle (which they never did check to verify insurance). I am salary paid and I was done for the day, heading to a class, and was involved in a car accident. Come to find out my insurance has lapsed. I know I am going to be responsible for it, but the guy I was involved with went to my company, thinking I was in a company vehicle. I contacted the guy told him that I was responsible for my own insurance and vehicle and that company has nothing to do with this. I told him to obtain the police report and wait for the insurance company to come in and do the work. (Didn't know at the time my insurance lapsed). When we both got the letter that my insurance lapsed, he had called me but end up missing his call since I was in a meeting. In the same meeting he called the company back up to get a hold of me I guess. The company was upset that my insurance lapsed and asked if I had insurance on the vehicle I was driving currently, which I did and showed them. They told me that they didn't want me to work until we figure this out. So....

1. Does the company have the right to "put me on leave" I don't even know if its with pay or no pay. The accident happened on my own time.

2. Does the guy have the right to show up at my company to get in contact with me, even though he has my phone number and can get in contact with me? Someone mentioned this is harassment.