• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Notice of Disability/Adverse employment action

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

I had posted previously on my situation and just had one quick question regarding one aspect of it.

As I indicated previously, I had been with the same company since 2002 with a stellar performance record. I work in the insurance industry. Due to the fact the company was understaffed...we were literally receiving twice as much work, sometimes more than that, per month. In order to keep up and try to stay on top of things so you would have good performance you were essentially forced to work long hours in a very high pressure environment. I actually was able to excel for a significant time period at first and actually had some of the best numbers in the state. However, as the months wore on and there was no respite in terms of pace/workload, I began to suffer from depression/burnout/panic attacks once again.

During the final month before I was forced to take my leave, I had notified three managers that I was having extreme difficulty peforming the duties of my job due to my condition. I was very forthright in terms of my symptoms. I had been having panic attacks. I could not concentrate. I was seriously depressed. My reason for communicating that to my employer is I was looking for them to provide me assistance in terms of temporarily reducing my workload so I could try to recover and get back to full peformance. The workload was not evently distributed, and I was receiving more work than other people in the department because they "thought I could handle it" That was obviously not the case.