• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Notice to Retire

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

New Jersey

I am considering retirement in 15 - 16 months. I am a manager, 58 years of age with 35+ years of service. Is there any benefit to submit my "intentions" to retire 12 months prior vs 6 months? I am concerned with possible loss of employment and would like to know if a notice of intention would provide any protection.

If I would decide to work longer is there any problem reversing my intention to retire?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
I cannot see any benefit to announcing your plans to retire any sooner than you have to. It would not provide you with any job protection; "employees who are going to retire in the next two years" are not a group protected by law. After 35 years of service any pension is already vested so that wouldn't be affected, and that would be about the only protection you might have had (an employer can't lay you off for the purpose of preventing you from vesting or incurring a benefit, but since you're already vested that wouldn't apply here).

An employer could conceivably hold you to any announcement to retire, so if you think there's a chance you might change your mind, don't say anything now.

pattytx

I agree with cbg. Even at my last job, with was with a large city, they only required 30 days' notice. I'd wait. There's no advantage to you to do so now, and there may be some disadvantages, such as "thank you very much, you can leave now".

Andy0192

Just as an example: