• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Offer of reinstatement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stacy3008

What is the name of your state?
I am a resident of Pennsylvania. I filed a civil suit against my employer in August 2005, for violation of FMLA, FLSA and retaliation. Basically, I was terminated while on FMLA and under doctors care. My employer came back with an offer of reinstatement on a Friday afternoon, however I had to report for work no later than the following Monday morning. I was already working at a new job and found this offer to be unreasonable. My attorney advised me that I no longer have a case if I refuse the offer? IS this true? Also, my doctor advised me not to take the offer of reinstatement, due to the fact they caused me great emotional distress by firing me and cancelling my health benefits when they knew I was in need of medical treatment. Now I have $$$$$ worth of unpaid medical bills.

pattytx

Well, you are paying your attorney for his/her advice, so you can either take it or not. Does your attorney know what your doctor said? Although, I would not take legal advice from a physician.

stacy3008

I am not sure what you are saying. Should I drop the case? Do I still have a case if I reject the offer? Why should I destroy the evidence that I tried?
I have read some case law and people have rejected 2-3 offer of reinstatement and still had a suit???? HELP!

pattytx

What I'm saying is that no one here could possibly know enough of the details about your case to say.

stacy3008