• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Penalty for lying in arbitration.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

erock

What is the name of your state? De

Hi I have a question I recently was fired. I worked as a stock brokers in a bank. I have to go through NASD arbitration. The employees who fired me are lying...they lied at the unemployment hearing and they are going to lie in arbitration.

What are the penalties of perjury in NASD arbitration I know it's a felony in federal court. Is it also a felony in arbitration.

Thanks,

Eric

quincy

First, I am not an expert on this, so you should wait for other posters, and also go to www.finra.org/ArbitrationMediation/index.htm and www.nasd.com/arbitration_mediation for additional information.

An arbitrator acts much like a judge in a court of law, but arbitrators are not as strictly bound by case precedents and statutory laws as are judges. They are given a wider berth when interpreting the law. If an arbitrator determines a rule or statute has been violated, disciplinary action may follow but it is up to the arbitrator whether to seek action or not. If an arbitrator disregards the law entirely, however, a state or federal court can vacate an award.