• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pleased help with nursing student loan forgiveness contract.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mama mia

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I’m a registered nurse needing help with a contract I signed while in nursing school.
When I started a hospital based nursing school a little over two years ago, the school offered a $10,000 a year loan to students who agree to work for the hospital after graduation, a loan forgiveness contract.

Over the two year period, I borrowed $20,000 for a two year work commitment with the hospital after graduation. As part of the agreement, the hospital promised to find employment for me once I receive my license.

Soon after graduation, I lost my grandmother and I traveled to Europe for 2 weeks to attend the funeral. While I was gone the school met with the graduates who signed the loan forgiveness contract and informed that the hospital did not have jobs available due to the economic downturn. They were told to study for the NCLEX to get their license and hopefully jobs would be soon available.