• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Position elimination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ketsch5

I live and work in WA state. For 4 years, I worked as a supervisor for a company. Last October I was informed that my position had been eliminated due to business conditions. I was offered a lower paying hourly non-exempt position in another department, which I accepted.

Recently, I found out that they are going to refill my old supervisor position from internal candidates within the company. I was not informed of this; I had to find out "via the grapevine".

My questions are:
1-Isn't there a time limit that they must wait before refilling a position that was "eliminated"?
2-Are they required to at least offer me the position or to compete for the selection process?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

las365

I live and work in WA state. For 4 years, I worked as a supervisor for a company. Last October I was informed that my position had been eliminated due to business conditions. I was offered a lower paying hourly non-exempt position in another department, which I accepted.

Recently, I found out that they are going to refill my old supervisor position from internal candidates within the company. I was not informed of this; I had to find out "via the grapevine".

My questions are:
1-Isn't there a time limit that they must wait before refilling a position that was "eliminated"?
2-Are they required to at least offer me the position or to compete for the selection process?