• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Possible Tenure Dispute

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

aiwa_dunwwody

I am a tenure track teacher who may have denied because of negative student comments on the student evaluation form used at my college. The student comments are overwhelmingly positive but the administration seems to be only focused on the negative ones which are almost exclusively limitied to one semester. I have 2 excellent administrative evaluations and mostly outstanding student evaluations but, again, there are some students who commented negatively.

At this point I have been told I better improve and have had my course load for the coming semester reduced. I think it is unfair for the administration to reduce my course load without looking at all of the information available about me--there is a major lack of communication going on.

My question is this: if I am in fact denied tenure based on nothing more than a dozen negative student comments from one semester should I sue? I can definately back up my position that most students have liked me and, so far, I have received nothing but positive feedback from the administration. Do people ever win in tenure disputes? I am a "for cause" employee.

If any lawyers specializing in this read this please email me. I am in Florida. I can provide more details if needed. Thank you in advance.

E

Elliotg

It is premature to file any lawsuit. If and when they deny tenure, then you may want to consider taking legal action.

Is this a private or state institution?