• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Possible wrongful termination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

atharee

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? GA

I am a physician employed by a company that contracts medical services to hospitals. I am still employed by this company, but the hospital I was working at (full time) stated that I cannot work there as an employee of the contracting company anymore. I can work at the hospital as an independent physician admitting my own patients because I still have full privileges at the hospital, but I cannot continue my hospital-based practice as before, and thus I have lost all my income with the contracting company until this company can find another hospital I where I can work. The decision to limit my practice at this hospital was not made by anyone at the hospital locally, such as the administration of the hospital or a medical executive committee, as is usually the case. Rather, this decision was made in the hospital's parent company / corporate office in another state, and the stated reason was due to financial loss or risk due to occasional delays in my submitting paperwork to the hospital so that they could be reimbursed for patient care immediately by insurance companies, Medicare, etc. The hospital wanted all charts to be completed within 24 hours, where JCAHO standards are within 2 weeks. The hospital's parent corporation is already under scrutiny after being fined millions of dollars by the government for submitting unacceptable claims for reimbursement some years ago. So the corporate office felt that there was a risk they would submit a claim without all the paperwork completed within 24 hours, instead of co