• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Possible wrongful termination due to family member

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Michael2005

What is the name of your state? TEXAS

Hello, this is my first time posting and I am not really sure where to put this as it involves some issues with my employer, an emotionally abusive family member, and some defamation of my character.

A family member of mine (no blood relation, relation by marriage to my mother) got me an interview where I currently work. I have had the job off and on for three years while I go to school to finish my degree (I'm in my early 20s). I have never had a bad review where I work, and my services are always requested as there is much for me to do on school breaks and while at school. The family member that got me this job has tremendous pull with this company, and he always holds it over my head...threatening me with the job in their own sort of way, while never coming right out and saying it. The employer has an arbitration agreement and an at-will-employment agreement that employees "must" sign upon employment. Every time I go back I have to resign these papers. This family member does not want me to go back to work with this employer, and my employers are trying to convince the family member otherwise but they would please him ultimately as it is more beneficial for their business.