• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Praternity Leave Question...Please help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Swillx

Hi, I'm living in Ohio, I'm a male and my wife is 37 weeks pregnant.

I've been working through a temp agency for about 2 years now full time. I was originally going to get hired in after 3 months but a hiring freeze was put in place so I've been stuck a temp. The company employees well over 500 people here in my town. I have a sneaking suspicion they may not be happy with me taking the time off I want....even though there really isn't anything going on that needs done or is of much importance at the moment.

So here is my question..I'm planning on taking 3-4 weeks off when the baby is born, what rights do I have to that time off? Do I have any rights at all being a temp? I'm worried they'll use this as an excuse to get rid of me and I'll have no rights because I'm still a temp.

Swillx

3-4 weeks all at once.

I looked at the link you provided, but not really sure that's what I looking into. As far as I know legally a man has the same rights to time off that a woman does(if its his baby). I'm just not sure if that applies to me being a temp even considering I've worked here so long.

Last edited:

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
The man is a temp. He doesn't work FOR the company that he works AT. He won't be fired from the temp agency, nor will he be "fired" from the place he works AT. The place he works AT will simply tell the agency that they don't want him there. They don't need a reason.

ecmst12

But will the temp agency be required to return him to an equivalent position when he returns from leave?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney