• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pregnant and recently got fired.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

xione

What is the name of your state? Texas

I am three months pregnant and recently got fired for missing a few days of work because of really bad morning sickness. I had informed the manager via-email that I wouldn't be able to attend work for a couple of days and told him exactly why, and after not receiving a reply I didn't think much of it. I went to work Wednesday 1-2-05, and was getting ready to clock in (I work in a restaurant...) and as I was putting my aprain on the general manager (whom I had emailed) told me without even looking at me, that I had the day off. Not even letting me know that I was fired. Only making it seem as if I was just let go for the day. After his news, I went to the schedule and saw that my hours were all marked off from this last week. As soon as I saw that, I knew that I was let go. But after thinking about it for a few hours, I started to wonder why I wasn't informed of this in a more professional manner. This was a VERY discreet firing. It's rather pathetic. But moving on... since I am without a phone at this moment, emailing the general manager was the only way that I could get a hold of somebody. For when I was sick, I didn't have the car to go up to a pay phone. Anyway, I e-mailed the GM and asked him what happaned and questioned whether or not I got fired. That was around 3pm yesterday and I still haven't received a reply from him yet. That part is besides the point, I think, because I decided to take the car once my boyfriend got home and go up the road to the pay phone. I ended up having to call from the phone inside of the