• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Prescription Marijuana Use

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lunapink

I have been professionally diagnosed with severe chronic depression which effects my ability to function properly without medication. I was prescribed a legal CA medical marijuana prescription 2 years ago and only use it within the limits of CA laws and never while on duty. I have been working at my current job for 1 year 6 months. When hired, I was not required to take any drug tests. Now my employers are changing the drug policy so that all employees must submit to drug testing. I know for a fact that there is another employee in my department who takes prescribed medications for anxiety (while on duty) and this is known and accepted by our employers. Is it, then, legal for them to fire me for taking prescribed marijuana on my personal time and not while on duty?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

ecmst12

If the testing company treats this like any other prescription, then after they verify the prescription with your doctor, they would report the test as negative.

swalsh411

If the testing company treats this like any other prescription, then after they verify the prescription with your doctor, they would report the test as negative.
You may be completely 100% right but I do not believe "legal marijuana users" are a protected class so it would still not be illegal for an employer to fire the OP for this reason.

justalayman

and the testing company would have access to medical records protected by HIPAA laws how?

they simply report their findings. It is up to the hiring agency to deal with the results however they choose to.