• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Promotion Discrim or Inquality

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gwydion75

Greetings,

I work in a 130 emp institution as a Business Analyst in an I.T. department. I handle every I.T. issue in this institution big or small, from start to finish, and have 4 other people in the department for support and to handle more issues.

I'm a certified network associate by Cisco... (CCNA), and am working on my CCNP and MCSE. I'm well versed in any "need" that this institution might have, as I've been handling all their issues without exception since I began here 5 years ago.

My only complaint, I lack the title and pay usually given a Systems administrator or Network admin etc etc... There is one systems admin position, held by an aging guy, retiring in 6-8 years who's going no where, and all the rest are smaller menial roles.

Boss opens up a "Network Administrator" position 2 weeks ago, with no notice to anyone. Following company procedure, the position and its minimum requirements and job standards are posted in the break room for all to see and apply for by the end of the week. I do so, of course, and to my knowledge, am the only internal applicant. By policy, the organization is not allowed to consider external applicants until all internals are rejected with valid reasons given and coaching as to how these reasons can be overcome in the future.

Here's a portion of the email I sent to my HR VP after being denied the position, as it describes the problem pretty well:

---------------------------
I was recently denied the promotion to Network Administrator. The reason given was that I did not meet the minimum qualifications of: