• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Recovering unpaid wages

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

bobman

What is the name of your state? North Carolina

I started working for a small, family-owned computer consulting firm as an intern while I was still in college. When I graduated I was granted a full time position which I maintained for two years. The owner believed in employee ownership and after about a year and a half I accepted 5% of the company's stock in lieu of a small pay raise. It really wasn't worth much, but we all had a grand vision of greater things to come and hoped it would be of greater value later on.

We were a company of 4 or 5 individuals and became close friends as well as workmates. There would be times when checks would be a week or so late due to customers not paying and things like that, and nobody really minded. We all believed in the company and knew we would have no financial worries in the long run.

Then, financial trouble ensued. The treasurer (i.e., the owner's wife) "forgot" to pay a year's worth of payroll taxes and got in deep trouble with the IRS, the area's economy went south, and the owner and technical lead on most of our projects began having medical problems which caused him to either not be able to work or be only partially coherent when he did show up. Paychecks were written later and later as the finances got worse. Finally after getting as much a three months behind I had no choice but to find another job, leaving my friends to fend for themselves.