• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Resignation vs. Termination Issues and Badmouthing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Basket77

What is the name of your state? California

I worked as a salaried management employee of major US corporation for six months. Last December, I was arrested near my home one night for a DUI. This occured during my "off time" and was not in the scope of my employment. Because of my out-of-state driver license and vehicle registration, I was unable to secure release until late the following morning, after the time I was supposed to have reported to work. I called my supervisor as soon as I had access to my cell phone. He told me to take the day off, but to return to work the following day. When I returned to work, I was instructed to resign immediately, that second, or be fired and have a termination on my record. I was given no time to consider any options and was told that I would not be allowed to resign at all unless I did so that very second.

I expressed my concern that a provision of my relocation contract required the repayment of relocation expenses if I resigned within a certain period of time after being hired, and that I didn't know from memory the exact time period specified. My boss told me that this was a legitimate concern and that if I agreed to the immediate resignation, that I would officially remain on the company's books, without compensation, until the repayment agreement was no longer in effect. He would not provide me with a copy of the agreement I had signed for review, however.