• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Return from Family & Medical Leave Act

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

rooney

I work for a large company and was out on leave with the FMLA for 3 months and returned in April this year. I have recently uncovered information that my position has been downgraded. I was a software engineering manager (working part-time) when I left and am now being told when I came back (still working part-time) my new position in a different division was listed as software engineer II and I am no longer a manager. (I found this out because in August I had wanted to leave the company and was promised a raise effective Oct. 1, 2000 and a trial period of working some hours from home. The work from home hours option was removed in September. On October 11, I received my pay stub in the mail and there was no raise because, as it was explained to me, with my current position as Software Engr II, my salary is already in market range.) I do not have anyone reporting to me now but this is a startup division and was planning to hire in a small group. The company will not put anything in writing as to these events. All promises were verbal. What recourse do I have?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

I am a bit confused as to the events. But basically, if this is NOT a result of your legal right to take leave via the Family Medical Leave Act, then you really have no recourse unless:

1) Do you work in an "at will" state or for cause state?

2) Did you sign an employment contract as Engineer Manager?