• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I resign or let myself be terminated?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

RSully72

What is the name of your state? Arizona

Hello,

I am an assistant manager at a large retail company. I have been informed that later this week I will be terminated for the store not obtaining certain sales related goals this month (assuming that the goals aren’t miraculously met within the next couple days).
My superiors informed me on Friday that, unfortunately, it didn’t look like the goals could be met, and that I would be terminated next week as a result. At that point they asked me what I wanted to do. I understood them to be asking me if I wanted to just resign now or if I wanted to wait-out the next few days to be terminated.
I will say that it is in the best interest of both me and the company for us to part ways. I have no hard feelings toward my employer….it just didn’t work out. It is a different type of management style and culture, and doesn’t really suit my skills or strengths. We part ways and everybody’s happy.
My only question is, do resign or do I wait for them to terminate me? This is where I’m really stuck. I’m leaning towards resignation, as I have never been involuntarily terminated from a job in my life. I also don’t relish the idea of just waiting-out the next 3-4 days just waiting to be discharged.