• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slanderous discharge?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

aromer1

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Illinois

I am a truck driver who worked as an at-will worker. I have been looking for a different job for a few months as the firm I worked for is a slave driving company who forces their drivers to work 14 hour days because the DOT allows it. On Friday, May 20, I got a call from a prospective employer who asked me if I could interview with them on Monday, May 23. I told them I'd see if I could get the time off and if they didn't hear from me, I'd be there.

I went straight to a driver manager when I got back to the terminal and explained what I'd have liked to do. She called my driver manager at home and my manager said it would be OK and to come in on Tuesday morning to see her. I went to the interview on Monday and called my driver manager to tell her that I could work out the rest of the week with them and that I would be taking the different job. She informed me at that time that I had been let go and there would be no more work for me there.