• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

smoke screen

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Dylanpage

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? georgia

Two questions

1- I was laid off. My former employer falsely claimed I quit. I won the appeal of their claim.They are appealing this decision to the state unempl. board.
Do I need an attorney.? They have so far gone out of their way to lie, now i have more of it to contend with? I am no lawyer, but I did beat em enough in appellate court.

2- Due to their lies, I am in a very dire situation, almost homeless.
Can I sue them due to this financial, mental, physical hardship i have endured thus far.?? In our times, it does not seem that an employer can get away with this...or can they?

Thanks,
Dylan

pattytx

1. If that is the last level of appeal, you may want to contact an attorney. How many levels of appeal have you prevailed on so far? Generally speaking, such appeals do not allow additional "evidence", but are decided only on the basis of whether the law was correctly applied.

commentator?

2. Sorry, no.

commentator

Yes, everything depends on the level you are to in the appeals process. If this was an initial decision, and is approved, and the employer has requested a hearing, it is still in the early stages.

But still, if this is moving to the "hearing" stage, it should be fairly easy for you to go to your hearing and tell your side of it. No attorney should be necessary if you can express yourself clearly and concisely.