• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Smoking fines at work?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

futuremsselsman

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I have been working for my employer for about 1 1/2 years without any issues. Throughout this time, I have smoked cigarettes daily and have smoked in the same location. This location is an open courtyard in between the building I work in and the building adjacent to our building. The courtyard is scattered with benches and ashtrays.

On Tuesday of last week, it was raining. I decided to smoke about 10 feet in front of the door to our building, as I have witnessed may, many people doing throughout the last 1 1/2 years. 2 of my co-workers were also standing there, but walked inside a couple of minutes after I walked outside. I was talking on my cell phone when the property manager started screaming at me that I could not smoke there. She pointed out the "no smoking" sign, which I had never noticed, and stated that I could be fined. She basically told me at that point that I would have to smoke in the rain. I told her that I would not stand in the rain, and I put my cigarette out in front of her and walked away.
I was told by my boss upon arriving back at my desk that the property manager was "reporting" me and I would be fined $750.