• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Staffing agency stands in the way of my dream job.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

troublesome

Florida

The question, in brief, is: Can I be hired directly by a business I was introduced to by a staffing agency if the business did not sign a contract with the staffing agency?

The story is:

I found your forums while trying to research a difficult question, and I decided to offer up my problem for discussion.

I am a CNC machinist who has just moved to Florida, and I'm looking for a job. After three weeks of searching job posts and sending resumes, I decided to visit a staffing agency. They sat me down and I filled out paperwork, signed documents, and during a brief interview I was told about a really interesting opening in a local machine shop.

I visited it, and loved it. The shop is less than 3 years old, new, cramped, started by a machinist who was frustrated with machine shops in the area. It's exactly the job I want, exactly the job I'm perfect for. I want to be a plank owner in a machine shop that does great work, and my range of experience and personality makes me perfect for the dynamic and extremely challenging work it takes to make it happen.

The owner of the shop and I get along very well. He's ready to hire me but has never worked with a staffing agency before. Then he finds out that they want a $5000 fee that he simply can't understand or afford. The agency wants 50% on top of my pay for three months, whether he buys the contract outright or pays the fee on top of my wages.