• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Teacher being fired over fraudulent petition

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RachelRS

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arizona

I am a student at Cochise College in Sierra Vista AZ. I am in my second semester of Ceramics with a really great teacher. Currently my teacher is about to be fired over fraudulent documents that my classmates and I were tricked into signing. This has become a long, drawn-out mess of a situation, so I am going to try to state it as plainly as possible. I'm sorry if this is a bit long.

Our problems started last semester when one of the students developed an enormous grudge against our instructor Clara. Its been revealed that it was because Clara would not let her sub (this student does not have a teaching degree). Most of us thought very highly of this student, and Clara especially liked her, so when she passed around a petition for us to sign, claiming it was for classroom supplies, we signed it and did not question her. She had written the subject of the petition at the top in pencil. After she got signatures from myself and a couple of other students in my class, she took the paper home, apparently erased the header and ran it through a printer so that the header stated it was a petition to ask for Clara's termination.