• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Temp-Disability, Termination/Voluntary Quit Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

myxo

What is the name of your state? New Jersey.
(Working from home office in NJ for a small company headquartered in California)

I am a service technician and just recently fractured my wrist. I have been unable to work since July 18th, 2004 and am not scheduled to see the orthopedist for re-evaluation until Aug. 12, 2004.
I used up all my sick time on a previous injury (pulled both thigh muscles and was unable to walk). This latest injury, which also occurred while off the job, has used up all my vacation time. I have no money coming in to pay bills.
I have filled out my section of the NJ temporary disability application form and the orthopedist has filled out his. My employer seems to be dragging their feet in providing their portion of the application. I have a suspicion they may be considering terminating me.
Am I correct in presuming that I will not be eligable for Temporary Disability Insurance compensation if they terminate me?
Can they legally terminate me due to the disability???
Am I also right in presuming I will not be eligable for TDI if I leave the job voluntarily?
I'm just not sure what my rights are in this situation --- nor am I sure how to proceed.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Interested to hear answer