• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Terminated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

Ebenezer

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

I have recently been terminated/laid off. I am not sure which however I am collecting unemployment compensation.

My story begins with my leave of absence for herniated disc surgery. I was out for 7 weeks. During this 7 weeks I was to collect Disability Insurance. I have been paying into Disability Insurance for the entire 13 years of my employment with this company. My company screwed up and lost paper work and did not file correct paper work, and I did not receive my first check until after 6 weeks (there was a zero day wait period on the policy). This was all after I was very strongly recommend/demanded to change the surgery date that I had given my company 6 weeks prior. It seems there was another clerical error and they did not have the zero wait policy in effect and they only discovered this 2 weeks before my surgery date. So I changed the surgery to a much later date. Anyhow I heard through the grapevine they were upset with me for calling once a week when I was off asking what is going on with my Disability check.

After returning to work the only comment my boss had for me was "Don't be showing anyone that (scar) they will think you're a sissy for taking so much time off work for such a little scar" The grapevine also told me the boss thought I was milking out the surgery. (Doctor gave them an 8-week leave slip) I was then asked to take a lesser position or be pink slipped. He already knew I did not want the lesser position.