• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Terminated for being safe?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NomadSoul

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Missouri

Hello,

I was a Satellite Technician for a company installing DirecTV. I had no attendance issues and no complaints from any of my customers. The weather a few days ago was unsafe in my opinion. It was 33 degrees, raining and the weather advisory was telling everyone to stay inside if possible. I called my team leader to tell him I needed my route rescheduled and he said "why?". I told him it was wet and cold and I had no way to stay warm and that was unsafe. He asked if it was frozen in my area and when I told him no he said "So, you're refusing to do your route?". It really ticked me off that he was being so rude about this and I said "Yes, i am refusing to do my route today."

So, now I'm unemployed and wondering if anything can be done about this. I invested $1,500 of my savings to get started in this business and now they're just dropping me.

Thanks,
Joe

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
It is perfectly legal for them to fire you for refusing to do your route.

pattytx

cbg, I'm asking this not because I disagree with you, but because I am curious. If indeed, an individual truly thought the weather caused an unsafe
working environment, could this not be an OSHA issue, and the employee be justified in refusing to work in such an environment? I really don't know that much about OSHA, so I'm just checking.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl