• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

threatened lawsuit by employee

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kwalt

Hi. I am a new store manager in Michigan. I'm not really familiar with all the legal ramifications of my position as I have just started and my training has been minimal. Recently I had an assistant manager quit, stating that she had spoken to a lawyer and had "a case" against me. Before leaving for vacation I left her a note with a list of tasks to complete and a time frame in which to complete them. I also stated that when I returned I should be able to see specific results on what she had worked on and that I would ask her what she had completed when I returned. She has trouble working long hours and I so I said in the note to her that I knew that long hours were difficult for her but that I needed 100% effort from her while I was gone. I let her know that MY boss was to be in the area and that he might stop in at an time so be ready. That's basically what I had written. Did I do something wrong in making my request? Also, she is a part time employee and I had to cut hours in the store, so I called her to let her know that I wouldn't be needing her for a shift. She said that was unfair and that I was required to allow her to work her scheduled shift. Actually there is an interesting company policy that she was all worked up about that I'm not too sure of either. Is it right for an employer to require you to stay on the premises for an unpaid lunch break? It is our company policy that the on duty manager always be present in case something happens so they aren't allowed to leave. Thank you for any advice you might have.

Sockeye