• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Told I would be fired for being sick with a doctors note???

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arkansas

I was working for a local company and had not made it past my 90 days probationary period. Things had not been going extremely well, I have a lot of sales experience and this is a different type on contractual sale. I sold something during my first 90 days while lots of their sales people have been there for months and not sold anything. I also have lots of sales experience and have a track record of making companies lots of money which makes me a pretty desirable candidate. The company has a process of certifying a sales person within a specified time frame. The first time I did it, I did not pass but did very well in the role play sessions. To give you all background on the job it is a entry level sales position mainly aimed at recent college graduates or people without sales experience. I am 14-15 years older than most of the employees there and unmarried. There were times when this young manager (35ish) would make jokes and questions about my sexuality, talking about cross dressing and slamming things around. Basically, one of the most unprofessional places I have ever worked. I am unmarried but not a homosexual and if I was then I would be proud of the fact and would not tolerate such actions. Anyway, I just got sick with the flu and I went to the doctor and have a note for the past two days that I am under a doctor's care. When I called the manager to explain my situation that I am sick and can not make it to the certification today, the manager explained to me that if I could n